Train Low Compete High Seminar 25th July 7.30pm

Ask questions, sort out training partners and find out how to use that HR or power meter.

Moderators: Simon Hemington, Paul Thomson

carolmac

Train Low Compete High Seminar 25th July 7.30pm

Postby carolmac » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:19 pm

Rebecca Warner is coming to our club room on Monday 25th July 2011 7.30-9pm to give a talk/seminar on the advantages and disadvantages of training Low (in a fasted state or low glycogen) and competing high (glycogen) as a nutritional strategy for cyclists/triathletes.

Please could you let me know if you would be interested in attending by Monday 18th July. Please see below some information from Rebecca Warner about herself and the talk.

Rebecca Warner BSc (Hons) in Human Nutrition - Nutrition Consultant .
I completed a BSc (Hons) degree in Nutrition at the University of Nottingham followed by a PGCE in Secondary Science Education at Loughborough University.

After graduation I worked as a Nutritionist at a gym in Loughborough. For the past 13 years I have taught Chemistry, Biology and Nutrition in secondary schools.

I became a "runner" about 9 years ago and joined Barrow Runners club in Leicestershire. When I trained for my first marathon in 2007 I researched the nutrition for running in detail, and experimented with different foods and strategies, just as a scientist would! This re-ignited my passion for Nutrition and so my journey into Sports Nutrition began. I discovered triathlons 2 years ago and am now hooked! So my knowledge of nutrition for sports expanded.

For the past year I have provided a nutritional advice service for a Personal Trainer in Witney (www.body4mer.co,.uk). I am currently studying the IOC's post graduate diploma in Sports Nutrition and have started my own business providing nutritional advice for both athletes and non-athletes. (www.catalyticnutrition.co.uk). email rebecca@catalyticnutrition.co.uk